Joni Ernst

  • Water fight intensifies in Iowa

    by - Mar 6, 2017
    Gina Jochimsen | gina-jochimsen@uiowa.edu Molly Hunter | molly-hunter@uiowa.edu A bill was recently introduced in the Iowa Legislature that could affect water-quality regulation in major cities across Iowa. The bill, House File 484, would transfer power from water utilities’...
  • Officials spar over refugee proposal

    by - Feb 2, 2017
    By Anna Kayser anna-kayser@uiowa.edu Iowa lawmakers and experts hold differing opinions on the constitutionality and effectiveness of President Trump’s executive order on immigration. Attorney General Tom Miller (a Democrat) said this is a troublesome policy because...
  • Trump names Gorsuch for high court

    by - Jan 31, 2017
    By Anna Kayser anna-kayser@uiowa.edu On Tuesday, President Trump announced that he is nominating Judge Neil Gorsuch, 49, to fill Justice Antonin Scalia’s vacant seat on the Supreme Court. Gorsuch graduated from Columbia, Harvard Law School, and...
  • Marching into deconstruction

    by - Jan 24, 2017
    In a movement in which millions around the world participated, a clash of ideas was inevitable. By Lily Abromeit | lily-abromeit@uiowa.edu While millions of people gathered in the streets of cities around the country and world...
  • Bipartisan VA bill passes Congress

    by - Dec 14, 2016
    By Matthew Jack | matthew-jack@uiowa.edu U.S. Sens. Joni Ernst, R-Iowa, and Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn., announced on Monday that a bipartisan bill to streamline the process for health-care appointments for veterans, the Faster Care for Veterans Act,...
  • While Trump struggles nationally, Iowa proves loyal

    by - Oct 27, 2016
    By Matthew Jack | matthewmjack@gmail.com While Donald Trump flounders in national polls, his numbers in Iowa have proved that his supporters in the state are resilient to controversy surrounding the Republican candidate. In the days after...
  • Ernst addresses veterans at the Operation Engage resource fair

    by - Sep 16, 2016
    By Maria Curi | Maria-curi@uiowa.edu Sen. Joni Ernst, R-Iowa, discussed the need to support veterans in a timely manner at the Operation Engage resource fair on Sept. 16 in the IMU. The event addressed the stigma behind...
  • Trump, Clinton pursue veteran vote through mental health talk

    by - Sep 7, 2016
    By Matthew Jack | matthew-jack@uiowa.edu Nine weeks away from Nov. 8, the major party presidential candidates are shifting gears to more directly address military voters by emphasizing their mental healthcare plans. In step with higher scrutiny...
  • Iowa GOP offers Trump advice

    by - Aug 31, 2016
    By Maria Curi | maria-curi@uiowa.edu Iowa Republican leaders have spoken out about what GOP presidential nominee Donald Trump needs to focus on to secure the tossup state. Their suggestions include clearly articulating his immigration stance so...
  • Trump headlines Ernst fundraiser

    by - Aug 27, 2016
    By Matthew Jack | matthew-jack@uiowa.edu DES MOINES — Republican presidential nominee Donald Trump headlined the second annual Roast and Ride fundraiser hosted by Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA) on Saturday, painting a Republican party embodying unity and hope....