Steve King

  • GOP health plan stalls in the House

    by - Mar 23, 2017
    With a House divided, Grassley predicts ‘Plan B’ on repeal and replace. By Maria Curi | maria-curi@uiowa.edu “There’s the bill right there – 121 pages,” Sen. Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa, said, pointing to a stack of papers...
  • King pushes 6-week abortion bill

    by - Jan 25, 2017
    Emily Kresse | emily-kresse@uiowa.edu On Tuesday, Rep. Steve King, R-Iowa, held a press conference introducing a proposed “heartbeat bill.” The bill, introduced in Congress on Jan. 12, would ban abortions once a fetus’ heartbeat is first...
  • Marching into deconstruction

    by - Jan 24, 2017
    In a movement in which millions around the world participated, a clash of ideas was inevitable. By Lily Abromeit | lily-abromeit@uiowa.edu While millions of people gathered in the streets of cities around the country and world...
  • While Trump struggles nationally, Iowa proves loyal

    by - Oct 27, 2016
    By Matthew Jack | matthewmjack@gmail.com While Donald Trump flounders in national polls, his numbers in Iowa have proved that his supporters in the state are resilient to controversy surrounding the Republican candidate. In the days after...
  • Trump headlines Ernst fundraiser

    by - Aug 27, 2016
    By Matthew Jack | matthew-jack@uiowa.edu DES MOINES — Republican presidential nominee Donald Trump headlined the second annual Roast and Ride fundraiser hosted by Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA) on Saturday, painting a Republican party embodying unity and hope....
  • King stirs up controversy disputing contributions of non-whites

    by - Jul 18, 2016
    By Madison Peterson | Madison-peterson@uiowa.edu U.S. Rep. Steve King said on national cable news Monday that he thinks the Caucasian race has contributed more to modern civilization than any other race. Iowa’s ultra-conservative 4th congressional district representative...
  • Podcast: Sen. David Johnson talks Donald Trump, Steve King

    by - Jun 12, 2016
    By Mitch McAndrew and Brent Griffiths  mmcandrew@uiowa.edu and brent-griffiths@uiowa.edu   In this inaugural episode of The Daily Iowan’s Ethics and Politics Initiative Podcast, reporters Brent Griffiths (@BrentGriffiths) and Mitch McAndrew (@MitchieMac) chat with state Sen. David...
  • Mowrer, Young advance in Iowa; King trounces Bertrand

    by - Jun 8, 2016
    by Mitch McAndrew | mmcandrew@uiowa.edu The June 7 primary contests in Iowa’s 3rd and 4th Congressional Districts saw two Republican incumbents emerge victorious and a Democrat secure a U.S. House nomination on his second try. King defeats...
  • King unfazed by campaign

    by - Apr 1, 2016
    By Rebecca Morin | rebecca-morin@uiowa.edu WASHINGTON, D.C. — Rep. Steve King, R-Iowa, doesn’t see the 4th Congressional District seat as “his.” Instead, King said, the seat is that of the people. The 66-year-old is up for re-election...
  • Loebsack looks for Dem allies

    by - Mar 30, 2016
    By Stacey Murray | stacey-murray@uiowa.edu Washignton, D.C. — Rep. Dave Loebsack, D-Iowa, is the lone-ranger Iowa Democrat in the U.S. House of Representatives. And while he says he has strong history of bipartisanship, he’s taking early and...