University of Iowa

  • To tweet or not to tweet

    by - Mar 8, 2017
    By Anna Kayser anna-kayser@uiowa.edu Some Iowa politicians and experts differ on the significance behind President Trump’s unconventional use of Twitter to relay information to the American public. “Trump has been very effective at using Twitter over...
  • Lecture notes conservative push

    by - Mar 7, 2017
    Gina Jochimsen| gina-jochimsen@uiowa.edu Molly Hunter| molly-hunter@uiowa.edu Conservative organizations have played a large part in creating and passing laws regarding unions, voter IDs, and campus carry of firearms in Iowa. On March 7, in a lecture in...
  • Collective bargaining bill raises concern

    by - Feb 7, 2017
    By Anna Kayser anna-kayser@uiowa.edu House Study Bill 84 which relates to public employees who use collective bargaining was introduced Tuesday and could hit The University of Northern Iowa (UNI) harder than any of the other state...
  • Trump names Gorsuch for high court

    by - Jan 31, 2017
    By Anna Kayser anna-kayser@uiowa.edu On Tuesday, President Trump announced that he is nominating Judge Neil Gorsuch, 49, to fill Justice Antonin Scalia’s vacant seat on the Supreme Court. Gorsuch graduated from Columbia, Harvard Law School, and...
  • Marching into deconstruction

    by - Jan 24, 2017
    In a movement in which millions around the world participated, a clash of ideas was inevitable. By Lily Abromeit | lily-abromeit@uiowa.edu While millions of people gathered in the streets of cities around the country and world...
  • While Trump struggles nationally, Iowa proves loyal

    by - Oct 27, 2016
    By Matthew Jack | matthewmjack@gmail.com While Donald Trump flounders in national polls, his numbers in Iowa have proved that his supporters in the state are resilient to controversy surrounding the Republican candidate. In the days after...
  • Kwan, Loebsack lead voting push in Iowa City

    by - Oct 26, 2016
    By Mitch McAndrew | mitchrmcandrew@gmail.com  Michelle Kwan, the most decorated figure skater in U.S. history, has traded pirouettes for politics to stump for Hillary Clinton in Iowa. As part of a one-day tour through Iowa on...
  • Presidential campaigns ramp up early voting effort

    by - Sep 28, 2016
    By Emily Kresse | emily-kresse@uiowa.edu After the months of candidate stops, TV ads, and handshaking Iowa has seen, the swing state will finally get the chance to vote. Iowans interested in voting before Election Day, Nov....
  • EXCLUSIVE: Clinton pushes voter registration in college organizers conference call

    by - Sep 8, 2016
    By Mitch McAndrew | mmcandrew@uiowa.edu  In a Sept. 8 conference call, Democratic presidential candidate Hillary Clinton spoke with campus organizers from universities and colleges across the country heading into the final push before the Election Day....
  • Trump, Clinton pursue veteran vote through mental health talk

    by - Sep 7, 2016
    By Matthew Jack | matthew-jack@uiowa.edu Nine weeks away from Nov. 8, the major party presidential candidates are shifting gears to more directly address military voters by emphasizing their mental healthcare plans. In step with higher scrutiny...